• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

trout fishing memorial weekend

fish-a-man

over memorial weekend i am going to southern mn to fish for trout and im wondering which baits would you prefer? which lures, preserved baits, or any other baits? im just getting into fly fishing and im not sure if i will bring that out while im down there. also any one else got plans?

Spin fishing

Spinners (size 6 and smaller) work well. I prefer Panther Martin silver blade. All silver or all silver with yellow/red spots or black/yellow spots. Countdown and jointed floating raps in the brown trout pattern or silver/blue are also suggested.

Fly fishing

Bead head pheasant tail or hare's ear, with or without flashback. Tan and gray caddis for dry fly. LT Hendricksons / sulphurs coming out soon. Try spinner or parachute. Flies all size 16 would work. Look for evening caddis after dinner. Grey caddis still may be around too, say 11am. Oh, you can never go wrong with blue wing olives too. They are always around.

Bait fishing

Nightcrawler and a split shot work well. Feel like being lazy add a weighted bobber big enough to support the current. Going for a hog? Try a chub tail at before sunrise or after sunset in a deep hole next to cover such as a downed tree / root wad.

Memorial weekend!

Yes there will be many of us trout fishing this Memorial weekend! Weather looks pretty good for SE MN. Maybe some rain on Sunday but hey, cannot have three perfect days in a row right? I'll be at Beaver Valley Creek State Park in Houston County fishing Beaver and other local streams. Good luck everyone!

thanks for the info. i will be staying at the cedar valley resort, ive never been down there but heard its pretty nice. If you know the area it would be nice to hear of some good streams to try. thanks if you share anything. :]