• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Stupid Marcum Question

Scott827

I have an Marcum LX5. It’s my first flasher. I took it to a boat dock to try it out. Everything works great. My question is when would you NOT use the superfine line? Is their situations when the regular mode is more beneficial ? I am a novice with a flasher and I am wondering why I wouldn’t leave on all the time. If there is not a reason, why is their an option to turn in on or off.

Scott

That’s not a stupid question at all; in fact we get asked it quite often. Running your LX-5 in SuperFine Line offers you the best target separation in the industry at ¾”. The reason MarCum offered it as an option is because the perceived value of larger returns most flasher users were accustomed to.

SuperFineLine (SFL) is the first button I hit on my LX-5 after I turn it on.

Detail is everything, especially on a tough bite. Yesterday I was out on the ice; with the cold front and the frigid temps, the fish were inactive to say the least. SFL was the difference between discerning the fish that closed in on the bait, and fish that stayed a jig's-length away and only sniffed.

For those of you who have studied the way a fish approaches and/or eats a bait with an underwater camera, you know it's the movements you do and often do not make in this critical zone, which make or break your day on the ice. SFL allows me to appropriately react to that behavior, and ultimately do better than before I started using one.

Joel