• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

What size/type of ATV for work chores at cabin

NoviceFishingDad

We just purchased a lake cabin with some acreage. In order to maintain the shore line, woods and lot am thinking either an ATV or a small yard tractor would be helpful.

If I were to get an ATV, what size and features would you recommend. At this point I envision it to be used in hauling weeds, wood, moving boat trailers around (loaded and unloaded) and possibly launching a boat or two (if possible) and pulling out docks and boat lifts, etc...

At this point I have no experience or knowledge about ATVs so am asking for your input on any recommendations. I would assume at least a 500 4X4, but am not sure. I like the idea of the ATV over the tractor as me and my boys can get out on some trails too.

I know you can put a plow on these things but was wondering if there is any way to put a small bucket for lifting or scooping small loads? May be a dumb question, but I figured I would ask...

Thanks in advance.

Best regards,

Novice Fishing Dad

I've seen smaller buckets for them. For what you want to use it for I would go as big as you can afford. Can't have too much power. I think a 500 would work, but if you go to a 7 or 800 I would go that route. I just got one myself so no pro on the subject, just tell you that's what I would. You can find a lot of the accessories at Fleet Farm for a reasonable price as well.

Novice,

you came to the right place with questions.

For your intended useage, I would personally recommend a Class II ATV, i.e. Polaris Ranger, Yamaha Rhino, Kawasaki Teryx, or Artic Cat Prowler. All of the above are available with 700 cc class motors. The Ranger is probably the most utilitarian of the group with the Teryx being the most versatile, not to mention their top notch motor in the Teryx.