• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Looking for an upgrade in lenses

Hey all! I currently have the standard cannon lens (18-55) and a 55-250. I am just a college student but I am out as much as possible photographing what i see and do. I have found out what most of you already know waterfowl is not easy to capture and most of the time its tough to get close for a decent picture. Over the last few weeks i have seen some beautiful captures by some of you and wonder if most of them are the actual picture or alot of cropping was involved?? Advice to trying to find the bird in the viewfinder and getting a quality picture?? Zoom out, find it, and quickly move in a start snappin??

So my main question is what type/size lens should i look for as it seems a 55-250 isnt quite powerful enough ( i know though it will never seem you have enough reach on the zoom) Will there be a big difference if i look into a 70-300?? Ideas If i can find a good used lens for a good deal i would be interested. Thanks!

Since you already have a 250, upgrading to a 300 doesn't give you a whole lot extra. I picked up my 170-500mm used for what I feel was a pretty good price. You could also pick up a teleconverter that would give you extra reach if you wanted to try that out.

As for trying to find the bird in the viewfinder. It just takes a lot of practice. I grew up waterfowl hunting, so when I started to take waterfowl pictures it kind of came naturally on the following of the bird.