• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

St. Croix smallie - best lure options?

I was on a St. Croix tributary last Friday for 6 hours and never saw another soul on the river. Caught 3 smallies & saw an impressive sturgeon. I'm new to river fishing smallies and am looking for some help with better "bait" options. I have only been throwing spinnerbaits because I haven't found anything else which produces. The river I fish in has a very fast current and I've had a hard time getting plastics into target zones. Can anyone steer me in the right direction? There are only a couple spots in the river deeper than 4 feet so the primary structure is the overhanging banks and current breaks. Any color suggestions?

[This message has been edited by LuckBites (edited 09-16-2004).]

which tributary are you fishing?

i've fished the st. croix between danbury and grantsburg a lot, and had the best luck with orange, white or yellow spinnerbaits, or the johnson's silver minnow(more for pike though)

------------------
Dan in Webster
Campion Log Works

#3 Blue fox bell meps with a yellow hair tail. Allways has been the best for me. We fish the Namekagon down the the Croix.My dad usually goes with a beatle spin tiped with a leach or half crawler and has plenty of luck also but can never beat my meps.
Like you said plastic would be a great bet but its not fast enough for the water up there.