• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Any Good ATV Trails in Southwest Minnesota or Northwest Iowa

hondarider550

I am new to the world of atving and am wondering if there are any public atv trails that I could go and try out sometime this upcoming year? If there are maybe I could meet up with somebody to try these trails out. I have looked online but have not come up with anything close by.

You won't find much worth riding in Southwest MN. The closest to you would be Elm Creek near Trimont, but I wouldn't waste my time. It's a small area that can be ridden in 15 minutes. After that, you're going in circles. I've been there a couple times, but it's tough to enjoy yourself there after a couple hours.

Your next best bet would be the Appleton ATV park in west Central MN, but that would be a few hours to drive there.

If you're into camping, there are 4 areas in SE MN.

The closest would be the Chatfield ATV trail. Next from there would be the SE MN Trail that runs from Stockton to Altura MN.

Then you could hit Trout Valley and Snake Creek between Winona and Wabasha. The SE MN area is very scenic with the bluffs overlooking the Mississippi River. Trout Valley IMHO gives you the best scenery, but all trails down here are worth checking out if you don't mind driving across Southern MN to get there.

From there, if you want to get into some decent trails, Northern MN will be your next best bet. But for that drive, you'd be best served by heading to the Black Hills which would actually be closer I think than driving up to places like the Nemadji State Forest.

Don't get me wrong, if you're willing to make the drive, you're more than welcome to join us on a ride up here.

Thanks Lep. I did see the Elm Creek trail on the map but it did sound kind of short and cheesy.