• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Veteran's Day 11-11, and National Veteran's week

Chris Haley

I'm a first gulf war vet, and when I came back to the states everyone at the airport wanted to shake my hand and buy me drinks. As great as this felt, I couldn't help but feel sick at the fact that some of these people may have spit on vietnam vets coming back. I want to take my hat to the guy's that fought that war and say thank you for your sacrifice and I'm sorry for the ***holes that treated you the way they did!! These guy's pulled the double duty, they had to fight a war abroad and come home and fight the attitudes of people too gutless to truly appreciate the cost of freedom.

Another note, we fight abroad so someday you don't have to wake up to tanks rolling through YOUR frontyard.

[This message has been edited by Chris Haley (edited 11-10-2003).]

Yesterday, my 6 year old daughter asked me what Veteran's Day was.

I explained to her that we paused to remember the soldiers who fought and gave their lives so that we can enjoy the freedom we have today.

She said she would be really sad if I went away and died in a war.

I gave her a hug and explained that unfortunately there are a lot of sad children in the world today.

We can never let our children forget what these brave men and women did for us and I would like to use this space to personally thank all the veterans who read this board for their courage and sacrifices for us.

Thank-you.

Thanks for the post.

Mostly, thanks for the men and women who have given us our freedom.

Sgt. Gary Wellman
4th Sqdn, 6th US Cavalry.
"Night Riders"

------------------
Let 'em go so they can grow!!!