• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

HELP - Title Transfer from Dealer

RAK

I need advise on what I should do, and if I have any legal action that I can take.

I purchase a used boat (2003 16’ Bayliner) in 2004 from a dealer in St. Cloud, I don’t know if I can post their name, but “Think Link”. The previous owners bought the boat new in June of 2004 and traded it in for an 18’ boat. I then bought it in July of 2004 and the dealer still has not transferred the title into my name. I have been calling the dealer every month since April of 2005 when I found out by the DNR that it was titled. I was told in July that the title was transferred into the dealers name and now they had to transfer it into my name, then in October, November & December I was told that I should have it within two weeks. I called again yesterday and was told that they just sent in all the paperwork, because they had to wait for a check from corporate, but I should have it within two weeks. I called the manager of all MN stores from Rogers and he said that he would look into it. I then get a call back from the St. Cloud manager who tells me that the previous owners bank will not sign off on the title. So to my point, I have a three-year-old boat that needs registration that I cannot purchase because it is not titled to me, and the dealer “Think Link” has been lying to me this hole time. What should I do?

Call the Manager and tell him that "his" boat is being returned in 7 days, if you don't have a clean title in your hand.

I'm not an insurance expert, but I don't think you can collect on an insurance claim for a boat that is titled in someone elses name. If you don't have the title, I don't think you technically own the boat. (Again, I am not expert!)

A letter from your attorney might help them file the title transfer, too.

Good Luck!