• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Manual Augers

Poppa

Good Morning all. I live in Central Ontario and its just been this weekend that we have had enough ice (not alot yet) but enough to walk out on to fish the hard water. My question is: I'm looking for a new auger and was wondering the advantages and disadvantages of the manual augers on the market? Any recomendations would be helpful in making up my mind.

Thanks

Poppa

I have a nils master and love it. When I bought the power auger it came with a hand auger attachment. The gas auger part is very light, so I only drilled a few holes with the hand auger to see how well it would work.

I have also owned the Mora hand auger and they work fine. The strikemaster Lazer hand augers I have used did a fine job as well...

i have used mora and lazer, and the lazer(what i have) is very good for a hand auger. ive heard nils are great too. all hand augers are gonna get tiring in more than 8" though. key is to find your spot quickly cuz you dont want to be drilling too many holes with any of these... unless you bring friends to drill some that is.

I have 8" Lazer - it's lot of work getting through 11" of ice - wished I bought the 6" Lazer. The blades are staying sharp. Last year I bought a cheap hand auger and the blades went dull after about drilling 50 holes. I don't know if its true, but Nils is supposed to cut holes faster.

Quote:

Good Morning all. I live in Central Ontario and its just been this weekend that we have had enough ice (not alot yet) but enough to walk out on to fish the hard water. My question is: I'm looking for a new auger and was wondering the advantages and disadvantages of the manual augers on the market? Any recomendations would be helpful in making up my mind.

Thanks

Poppa