• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Jigging in winter

BobT

I have a few questions for the experts out there about jigging technique.

When tipping a jig in the winter, what do you feel works better; tipping a jig with a live minnow, just the head, or just the tail?

Doesn’t the addition of the bait interfere with the jig’s designed action or can this actually make it more enticing?

On a lure such as a jigging rapala, where should one tip it; the bottom hook or the rear hook?

What do you think?

Bob

I'm no expert. But, for me, it really depends on the type of jig. If you are using a regular jig head, then I usually tip with a whole, live minnow. If I'm fishing with a jigging spoon, or jiggin' Rap, I'll tip with a minnow head. Normally, I'll look at the bottom hook of the jiggin' Rap and try to figure which hook will face back and put the minnow head on that hook. When I tip with just a minnow head, it is often a small crappie minnow. That seems to allow more action on the jig.

Good Luck!

MJ

MJC I think nailed it. It really is going to depend on the jig/lure you are using, and how you plan on fishing it. For me, when fishing I will often have a very aggressive lure like a jigging spoon or jigging rapala/Nils Master jigging shad on one rod, and only tip it with a minnow head. Often times on the Jig rapala type lure I will not tip it at all...IF I am setting a deadstick/bobber rod, I will often times choose a smaller lure that just meerly adds color and then hook on a whole minnow. For this I will often use a JB Gem-n-Eye or something like that. I dont jig it much, just let the bait do the work.

Because of the very reason you stated. Many lures are desiged to work best with very little to no bait, the more you add to them the more you hinder the action.