• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Books about training a lab

nater

I will be getting a lab puppy near the end of this year and I was looking for some good books or other info on training my new puppy. It is my first time training a dog and I will use him for pheasant and duck hunting. So a book that has great ways of training hunting basics would be perfect. If it has good information on obedience training that would be helpful also, since this will all be a first. I am so excited!!

Thanks for any help,

Nater

I agree w/ nitebite... I'm working with Game Dog w/ my 11 week old lab currently. This is my first pup to self-train (or attempt to) and the book is very simple, straightforward, and takes you through the whole process, from 7 weeks old and on, step-by-step. I too plan to use my lab for pheasants as well as ducks, so I'm starting w/ Game Dog and have also purchased Water Dog (same author). From what I understand, Game Dog is more of an overview for both and Water Dog goes more in-depth w/ some of the skills needed for effective duck hunting / recovery.

nater,

I am a first time trainer myself and my pup is 20 weeks old. Been working with her since I got her and it is both work and fun all at the same time. I can't wait until hunting season 2007! I have 2 DVD's if you would like to borrow them & I live in St. Cloud as well. I have Waterdog by Wolters & Gun Dog Training Retrievers by Ken Roebuck. I got both of them online at a much more reasonable price than what you could get them in a store for. If anything, maybe in the future we can share ideas, tips, or training info. Shoot me an email if you would like. [email protected]