• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

digital help

As I've posted here before, I've gone from a film SLR to digital SLR. I'm still learning, but what a blast!

With Christmas approaching, my impossible to buy for Dad wants a digital. Looking for something in the $250 to $350 range that it isn't too difficult to master and takes quality pics. Any advice??

Thanks.

I will disagree with Steve just a bit and tell you that there are many good cameras available in that price range that are other than Canon and Nikon. Sony, Kodak, Olympus, Fuji, Pentax, just to name a few.

Do a Google search for digital camera reviews and you will find a lot of good information that you can help you with the type of camera that will be best for your usage that will give you quality photos. Many of the sites allow you to input many variables, mps', zoom, brand, price, etc. Read a number of the user reviews once you narrow your cameras down to get an idea of what actual users think of your choice.

Now I am not saying that Canon and Nikon aren't good cameras, you will find those brands in the reviews, just that there are many good choices in that price range. Do a little research and you will find a good camera that has the features you want. I just bought my daughter a 6.0 megapixel point and shoot that has excellent glass and some nice features for $200. Have fun shopping smile.gif

Unfortunately that is one of the drawbacks to the majority of point and shoot cameras and the ultra zooms. That is one reason I stayed with the DSLR. Many of the digital review sites I have visited now include the shutter lag info, so again research should give you an informed decision.