• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Lab Questions

koWALLEYEski

I have a yellow female. When ever i go play fetch with her she'll do ever command correctly. She'll SIT, STAY, and FETCH, but when she retrieves the ball she drops it about 20 yards away from me everytime. I have found that she will bring it all the way back to me if I act as if Im walking away from her. How do you teach her to bring it all the way back to my feet, or at least closer than she has been bringing it?

I'm by no means an expert, but my yellow did the same thing as a pup. I would turn around and walk away until he would bring it all the way in. After a short while, all I had to do was turn my back to him and he would bring it all the way in. I then started using a command when I turned my back (for me I said, “All the way"). After that all I had to do was say the command and he would pick it up and bring it to me. My dogs 2.5 years old now and occasionally I still say it. The response now is immediate, even if he has dropped it and started running already he will come back to bring it closer. I don't always make him sit and stay when I'm throwing the ball so sometimes he tries to cheat. That's my bad. I should make him sit and stay each time but usually I'm just trying to 'run the puppy out of the dog' so I can get some work done.

Here's the best advice I can give you, buy the book "Game Dog" , the authors name is Richard Wolters (not sure on spelling). This will give great step by step instructions for all the training you want to do.