• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Whats wrong with my sled?

pikeprowler

I have an 1986 Polaris Indy trail. I just had the carbs cleaned this last winter and it ran fine for about 100 miles than one day I was taking it across the yard and it up and quit running on me. It almost sounds like it's only hitting on one cylinder but I'm not very good with sled motors. Could the dealrship that cleaned the carbs messed something up or do you think theres somethin wrong with the float or jets.

it could possibly be a fouled spark plug, you could pull your sparkplugs and compare them, if one apeers black and sooted up that maybe the issue.

if the sled ran good when you recieved it from your dealer then i would guess they had nothing to do with whatever is acting up. sleds can be very high maintenance.

this is a long shot cuz it could be many things.

welome to fishing minnesota there are many of great outdoors people here that will gladly assist you.

good luck

Plugs are cheap insurance, keep several sets handy, there's always someone around who needs 'em at inopportune times. My brother's three cylinder XLT was bogging real bad, tried new plugs, lasted about five minutes before it acted up again. When he got home, pulled the carbs off, found out one of the main jets unscrewed and was laying in the bottom of the float bowl. Screwed it back in, never ran so good since he got it! What have you got and what have you found so far? Is it the same cylinder fouling out? How has it been running? My 500 Indy fouled plugs because I was towing some tiny tots around on a sled, and didn't get run hard enough to clear it out for about an hour. Rode several miles on some trails that I used to get air on, just kinda puttered along. Stopped, changed plugs, and yeehaw...