• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

bow tuning

I finally found a nice used bow for my 17 year old. Mathews Q2. My question is this. It is set at 70lb. He is strong, but wants to turn it down to 60 figuring he can shoot more arrows without getting so sore. He would gradually turn it back to 70 for hunting season. He can handle 70 but wears out before he is ready to quit shooting. What, if any, would be the negatives with going to 60??

I am by no means an expert on bow tuning, but I would venture a guess that going from 70 lbs to 60 lbs PROBABLY won't affect anything other than the site pins. I'd guess the arrows will still fly fine assuming the bow is in tune now, and I'd guess the arrows will be spined OK for 60 or 70 lbs.

If he's going to shoot 60 lbs all or most of the summer, I'd suggest he shoots that for hunting season too. No reason to be messing around right before hunting season, and 60 lbs of draw is plenty (as long as the arrows fly good and are accurate).

Island guy- You want to be sure that the bow is able to shoot 60 lbs... Each bow is set with cables and strings and limbs to match a pound bow. Most bows then have a shooting range of 10 lbs swing. anotherwords 60-70.. however, its possible that your sons bow is a 70-80?.. or 60-70?.. if its the 60-70 then YES not a problem at all to turn it down. You would probably have to re-adjust the sight pins and string knock, maybe a slight ajustment to the rest and re-paper tune. Your arrows will probably be under spined as well.

Just make sure that you turn both limb bolts out the exact same. maybe brining it in to a pro shop and having them do it is not a bad idea!

Deitz