• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Upper North Winters

Hi everyone...this is my first year up here(MN),I haven't had the opportunity to experience these wonderful winters you all have. What would you recommend for me, as in winter gear(not a big winter fan)my b/f is a guide(have a feeling I will be on the ice alot)so any advice will help!!

i'm a guy, so i can't tell you much about styles; and it will depend on how cold blooded you are. but ! you will want to dress in layers. first some long johns , or insulated under wear .( even an old pr. of panty hose will provide some extra warmth)jeans are ok, but lined wind breaker slacks are warmer. maybe a tee-shirt under a long sleeve turtle neck . then you can add sweet shirts etc.then get yourself a very good insulated coveralls or snow suit. several companies make them for gals. good socks. ( i still prefer wool, but there are some really good synthetics out there too) GOOD insulated boots.( your B/F should be a good source on what to get there) for gloves; i suggest regular gloves , but when it gets really cold , i prefer a pr. of glove liners inside some mittens. also a stocking hat and one with a face mask. these would only be some suggestions, and i'm a guy, sooooo ! grin.gif del OH! don't forget lip balm!! the cold dry air in tough on lips!!

Del hit it on the head.

Layers are the KEY. Then a good set of Bibs or Coveralls to top it off. Keeping the wind from running up the back of your jacket, will keep you warm. Good socks and boots that are not too tight, so you keep good blood movement in your feet.

Then just go out and HAVE FUN!!!!!!!

Steve