• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Must have ice tackle/gear?

Kylersk

If you havnt noticed, this is my first year of full fledge ice fishing. I've dont the occasional fish with a buddy, work fishing contest, and the like, but nothing really on my own. I'm really looking forward to trying it out this year.

Anyways.. I've got a cheapo rod/reel combo that I picked up from Gander mountain a few years ago. For tackle, I really dont have much at all. So, suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Oh, I've got the Shelter, Vexilar and hand auger so for as well.

Must have ice tackle...

You are going to need a variety of horizontal and vertical jigs for panfish...

Horizontal jigs: I like to use JR's Tackle Ice Minnows and Pumkinseeds, Custom Jigs and Spins Ratso's and Rat Finkees, Systems Tackles Genz Bugs, just to name a few. Red glow is a good choice for color, and I would pick sizes between 12 and 8 and that will cover a variety of situations and species.

For vertical jigs I like Custom Jigs and Spins Shrimpos, Nuclear Powered Ants and Two-Spots, Systems Tackle Pounders, JR's Tackle Moonglows, just to name a few.

You might also want to pick up some jigging spoons. Jigging spoons can be used for most species and are a very effective lure during the winter. JR's Tackle Flashers and Crushers, Scenic Tackle Angel Eyes, Custom Jigs and Spins Slender Spoons, Acme Kastermasters, Sweedish Pimples, just to name a few. I carry sizes anywhere from 1/16oz to 1/2oz.

I would also carry a variety of different sized hooks too.

Split-shot is also needed.

For bobbers/floats I would go with the Ice Buster Bobbers by Todays Tackle. These bobbers are made with foam and can be cut down to balance with any presentation. A very good choice for panfish, perch, walleye...

A lot of options out there...

Good Fishin,

Matt Johnson