• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Permit purchased. Time to pack!

I have been a little disappointed that I haven't been to the BWCA yet this year so I decided it has to get done. Well, I set aside some days and massaged my schedule at work a little and managed to get a 4day weekend in early September.

The permits I was hoping to get weren't available. So, I busted out the Beymer books and decided to try a entry point that I've never done before. Also, I have no accompaniment on this trip so why not have some adventure on my first solo.

I will be heading in at the Little Indian Sioux River and going north. After a couple days in some great fishing lakes, I will return south on the Nina Moose River. I'm pretty excited based on what I've been able to research online.

So, here goes nothing!!

I spent a good part of the day sorting through camping gear and getting out the stuff I will need for the trip. I have a lot of duplication in some of the items so that is part of the reason I'm sorting. I also have numerous items that are scaled for family or group camping and are not particularly suited to solo tripping.

A couple examples of this are the tent, water filtration/storage and the mess kit.

I own several tents ranging from a 2man UL backpacking tent up to the full size family tent that holds all four of us and the dogs. My real decision here was between my older 2man UL dome or my newest tent a 3man dome. Both tents are made by REI.