• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Looking to buy ATV

walros

I am new to this sport and wondering what would be the best rig to get? I would need to use it ice fishing, plowing the driveway and, of course, letting the kids ride it. The kids are 16, 13 and 10 years old. I would appreciate your recommendations or suggestions.

Price wasn't an issue at this point. I was thinking of the twin cylinder engine because they should be smoother running and last longer but I was reading about the Polaris leaking problem. Now I am not sure.

You really cannot go wrong with any of the manufacturers models. They are all very good, solid units. Check some of the ATV chat boards out there on the 'net, and don't let brand bashing sway you too much.

It is ok to shop for the best price, but be sure to get one from a dealer who will be there for you when you need service or warranty issues adressed.

My rig is a 2001 Polaris Sportsman 400, and it does all those activites that you mention very well. It has drug 20 foot logs, elk, and deer with ease. That said, I nearly bought a Honda and a Cat, and would have been just as happy. It just came down to the best price at a dealer I felt would be there for me if I needed him.

I bought mine in mid summer, when dealers were making room for the next year models.

Walros,
First, I invite you to use the "search" button above your post. Search for something like "ATV purchase" in this ATV Forum and you will net some information. Try other search words as well.

Don't forget to check out the smaller size ATVs. This might help ya.

http://www.atvnews.com/output.cfm?id=772309

The "best rig" is one that YOU like, has the features YOU want and has a price tag that YOU need. How much you looking to spend?

Walros -