• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

CARPS everywhere!!! but none caught!

Was visiting my family in Wisconsin. The local river has carp running through for breeding. Since this is my first year trying to catch a carp on the fly, I figured this will be my best chance. Carps were everywhere. Saw some large females and a lot of males chasing the females. Eggs were laid in every green weed-like vegetation too. I fished for 1 hr using my newly tied backstabber, wolly buggers, crayfish, prince nymphs, streamers, and random insect-like flies. No takers. I wanted to fish some more, but some kids were on the shore casting near me with huge spoons trying to snag the carps and three other kids were near me bowing carps. Did not want to risk getting hurt.

Any suggestions? I floated, swam and darted flies around and near so many carps, but none took. Tried to sneak around to some, but they just kept on swimming by.

Did accidentally snag two, but they got away quickly.

Tips?

Thanks!

With spawning carp you'll find out in short order that they really have a one track mind. All they're thinking about is getting their groove on, and feeding really goes on the back burner until their done. That's not to say that they don't eat, but it greatly reduces your chances.

The key to carp fishing on the fly is that you want to find a fish that is actively feeding (tailing). They will root around on the bottom of the stream looking for food. This means that when you find a carp that is feeding, you should try to figure out his feeding line, and put the fly around 2' in front of him. Try your best not to move the fly too much, unless he seems disinterested. Then giving it a few short strips isn't a bad idea.