• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

water clarity / visibility questions

chewynoeyes

I'm new to spearing and will be trying a lake tomorrow that doesn't have great water clarity. With rain/snow overcast skies i assume visibility (in water) will be less.

My question is, what is the difference in visibility on sunny day and a overcast snowy day.

When trying a new lake what kind of water clarity are you looking for? dnr lake info report does have # of feet of clarity. is that accurate or does that number vary with weather condition.

Water clarity is an issue much like a Ford, Chevy debate . What I mean is some guys want it crystal clear and some want a little stained. I think the clearer the water the more skittish the fish are. I have speared where you can’t see the bottom in 7 foot of water and have done very well. last year the lake I normally spear on was really dirty with water clarity and 2.5 at best and I speared a couple of pike in it then moved to a different lake and the couple of guys that stayed and speared it did very well with one guy spearing 30 plus pike.

The dirtier water does put strain on your eyes because you have to really focus on your decoys and the water itself in order to spear.

Finding crystal clear water for spearing is great but it not necessity.

2c

I would say lakes change year to year for clarity so I don't put much stock in the dnr report