• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Brand new Muzzy- What did you guys do ?

Im brand new to this and Im getting conflicting info on what im to do about getting my new Impact Ready to Shoot- I got all the Lubes and oils From FF when I bought the gun but now what- Am I supposed to Lube the Barrel and Breech plug First before I take it to the Range for the First time ? The manual says the Barrel is supposed to be dry and free of any grease but then two pages later it says use the T17 lube before you shoot it ? Please Help.

I have just a minute here as I am heading out for an afternoon hunt, so if I miss a step, I am sure someone will catch it. Here is what I do, new gun or not, before heading to the range.

1) run as many patches through the barrel as necessary to get any 'grease' out of it. patches should be perfectly clean when you're there. (shouldn't be any grease after you clean up your new gun, ever again. don't use grease or oil in a muzzy barrel.)

2) get some bore butter, put about a silver dollar size on a patch, not too thick but just be sure the patch is covered.

3) run that down the barrel, this coats to protect and also to make loading much more easy

4) take out the breech plug, clean it with a rag or patch. use your breech cleaning brush to clean the breech threads in the barrel. apply liberal amount of T17 breech plug grease to the threads on the plug. install the breach plug.

Now go to the range. Do not load the powder and shot, but DO load a primer. aim down range and fire the primer. This cleans out the breach plug in case there is any dirt or fiber in it.

Load your powder and bullet. Run it down the barrel with the ram rod until it is snug in as far as you can press it. I have seen guys bounce the ram rod but to me that would break up the powder pellet, so just press down firmly.