• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

newbie blind question

wannafish2

Hey all, I am a 3rd year bowhunter and I am looking for your advice. I seem to get busted every time I try to draw. I know that will come with practice, but in addition, I would like to add a little mobility to my set up. I am wondering which blind is the best for bowhunting. Since I'm still a rookie, I get my best groupings when I am standing up, which makes it hard in a tree stand anyway to get my feet placed right so I feel comfortable with my aiming and everything so the added space of a blind I think will help with that and hiding my draw. I use Rage broadheads, but have a lower draw weight (I'm female too) - so, what blind is the best for a bowhunter who needs to get 'em in close, uses a mechanical broadhead and wants shoot thru windows that I can maybe stand up in to shoot and still blend in? Oh, and priced between $200-$300.....

I suggest you practice a lot from a chair for a while and get comfy shooting sitting or standing. Cut on impact heads will be best if you decide to shoot thru mesh. Maybe a Magnus Stinger or something like that. Most of the deer I have taken I am sitting in a treestand and a few while sitting in a chair by a tree or brush. I don't like the blinds. Hard to see my pins and I can see or hear around me as well. Good luck!

It's definetly much easier to shoot a deer from a treestand.

Blinds sound like a nice easy, movable, quick set up solution, but there are huge drawbacks. The biggest, deer can pick out a newly set up blind MUCH quicker than you can imagine. You really need to set it up well in advance of your hunt, or spend a lot of time and effort to brush it in and make it look like the surrounding vegitation.