• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

No Deer :(

usmc0411

Subject says it all. After this mornings hunt, I have spent a total of 23 hours in the stand and haven't even as much HEARD a deer let alone seen one. It is frustrating to say the least since all my pre season scouting indicated heavy traffic and high volumes of deer, granted it was on a WMA so it get some pressure but after all this time... Nothing. I know, I need to keep at it, stay paitent and it will pay off, but do any of the pros out there have any pointers or suggestions? Been hunting thickets mostly adjacent to corn fields and water source both morning and evenings.

I don't want this to sound like a rant because this is my first time back in the whitetail woods after 6 years of living on the West Coast and a few deployments, and it awesome every time I get out and sit in a stand, seeing a deer would be encouraging though.

If you are scouting the summer you are really missing out on the fall patterns, a lot of things are changing when the season gets fired up. Pressure is probably your biggest problem right now, a lot of people have been in the woods lately. The rut is just around the corner so the deer will be out and about soon, in the mean time I would hug some thick or wet bedding areas, if they are close to acorns or other food sources all the better.

Don't get too discouraged, deer have a tendency to disappear before the rut, then come back full force. Stay on that corn field, get into as remote an area as you can. The further away from any people the better. They are likely moving at night and bedding a ways away. You need to try and get closer to their beds. I have hunted.public land and it can be difficult. Stay at it, good times are just around the corner.