• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Getting ready for the next Lake Michigan trip.

Here's a few trolling flies that I have tied up for our upcoming fishing trip to Washington Island, WI in a few weeks. I've been making trolling flies for a couple of years now so I add a few based on what I hear the fish are going on each year.

I used 50# big game for my leader material, #2 trebles and 2/0 or 3/0 octopus hooks. Depending on the action I'm looking for I either snell or tie the hooks on the leader. You'll see single treble, tournament and tandem hook sets. Here they are...

TrollingFlies4.jpg

Top fly is a transluencent green/chartuese/blue mirage fly wrapped on a tube with a single treble and red/green beads. The bottom fly is a super glow green with glow green beads, glow green bullet head on a tandem hook rig.

TrollingFlies3.jpg

Top fly is a transluscent green, chartruese, blue and peal flie on a glow green bullet head tied to a tandem hook rig with purple/pink/red beads. The bottom flie is a green crinkle/blue mirage/chartruese mirage on a tube, with green beads on a tournament rig.

TrollingFlies1.jpg

Top fly is chartruese mirage/pearl with blue beads with a single treble snelled to the leader on a chartruese bullet head. Bottom fly is a modified little boy blue with LLB/blue mirage/purple and light blue beads wrapped on a tube with a tournament style snell.

Last year the LLB fly was hot as well as the basic green flies. I added some caramel dolphin flies a couple of weeks ago. Already have plenty of whites, purple, red and blue flies. I alway bring my kit along just in case one particular fly gets hot and I can get a few made for each of our boats fishing. It's a good way to pass time on stormy or windy days.