• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Any quality in 'Mike Lardy' training books or dvd's?

Cobber

Good evening HSO'ers.

Looking to get the Mike Lardy training book as well as the "Total Retriever Training" dvd series..

Anybody heard much about these or used them yourself? How were they?

Thanks!

I haven't seen Lardy's newest series but I did borrow the earlier edition from a friend when I got my first dog a couple of years ago. Being a newbie, I thought it was very difficult to follow or understand. Now with some training under the belt it does make more sense. I have the Evan Graham Smartwork DVD series and found that much easier to understand and follow along with.

As far as a book goes, I would highly recommend Julie Knutson's "Training the Pointing Labrador". It's a good read for any new pup owner, not just the pointing lab. Preferrably the puppy section should be read prior to getting the pup. It will likely make a huge difference in the start of a well trained dog. Understanding "the walk" will be huge for your pup.

Good evening HSO'ers.

Looking to get the Mike Lardy training book as well as the "Total Retriever Training" dvd series..

Anybody heard much about these or used them yourself? How were they?

Thanks!

If you are doing a lot of training by yourself or alone I would look to Dennis Voigt. You can find him on his publication "Online Retrievers" or his DVD's of training retrievers.

Lardy is one of thee best trainers in the field trial game if not thee best. You might go to his HSOforum first. Do a google search or handjem retrievers.

Goo Luck