• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

arrows and broadheads

Abndoc

alright guys...I'm looking for new arrows. Last fall i was using carbon express pile drivers. They flew really good for me, but I had a problem with the nocks flying out. Yesterday shooting at my target 2 out of 6 arrows...nocks were laying about 10 yards behind my target. not sure why? quality of the arrows? any ideas. what do you guys like?

Also I know Don is going to laugh, this is my first year turkey hunting, have been hitting him up for pointers. He asked me if I was crazy enough to take the bow out for first year turkey hunting...yep thats what I'm thinking. lol anyways broadheads...Will my g5 montecs get the job done or should I be looking at the "turkey broadheads". I'm sure I'm not the only one with these questions? C'mon you pros..teach us rookies how to do it. grin

I have shot gold tip vanetec arrows for awhile now and they seem to be perfect in everytihng. Havent lost a deer yet but that isnt necessarily the arrow, but havent had any issues with them while deer hunting.

I'm thinking your knock issues is just that, knock issues. Try some different ones before spending the cash on new arrows.

For broadheads, I'd suggest any large diameter mechanical.

It can be done, good luck!

I think your arrows are fine. Once in awhile you'll get a bad batch of nocks. I'd just buy another dozen, they're pretty cheap. Or take some glue or epoxy and put a drop on each side of the nock. Let it dry and then press it in. See if that snugs them up.

Bowhunting turkeys is a lot of fun. I applaud you for giving it a try. The vitals are small and the birds rarely stand motionless for long. Like Don, I recommend large diamter expandables. Lots of good 2" heads out there. I've had great success with Rocket Hammerheads over the years.