• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Starting a new lawn?

water rat

A question to you yard Guru's

My back yard is In rough shape from dogs(are now trained)A new patio and just never having an established lawn.. I would like to bring In a load of top soil? and level to get rid of the ups/downs and start with new seed...I'm a yard rookie and need to know do I kill all the vegetation prior to adding new soil? I'm looking at adding about 2-4" of soil to taper awy from the house and meet the height of the new patio

I guess I need to know the best way to go about this.. I'm In the trades and not working a whole lot so I'm not looking to spend major $$$ I just would like to have more green from grass than from weeds.

thanks for any help!

Up that way a big problem is the sandy soil. If you have a lot of sand then you may want to consider hauling in a lot of clay and working it in. You need a lot of organic material to get a decent lawn and with the sand you end up with a sort of weak lawn that you have to water constantly to keep it going. Trucksfull of compost, rotted manure, whatever you can get your hands on. I doubt you can afford to haul in enough topsoil to get the 4+ inches you need across the lawn. Look around your neighborhood and see who has the best looking lawn and stop and ask them what they did. Depending on how much ground you have you may want to just plant some if it to native prairie. Check with Prairie Restoration in Stacy - it might even be worth it to have them come out and give you a plan. They charge a hun for it but they'd give you a plan that gave you exactly what needed to be done. I had them check out an area in my yard and the cost to have them do the work was way beyond my means. I did the work myself and it's turned out pretty decent. Ton of work though.

water -