• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

New Guy ... Nikon or Canon

Hello All,

I have been checking out the great photos here for a few months and decided it’s time to get involved. I mostly shoot wildflowers, birds, dogs, some sports and family but not at the level of most here. Other than photography I enjoy hunting, fishing and running (it’s a bad habit smile ) I have been shooting with a Nikon D50 (18-55 and 55-200) for the last three years but I am think of switching to Canon. Good idea? Bad idea? Any thoughts?

Here are a few of my pics. No post processing but I'll save those questions for another thread crazy

3596456477_2f0a69091c.jpg

3168669145_b299f4e9a5.jpg

25619571_7e91b8c98f.jpg

Very nice shots, if it ain't broke don't fix it!

I like Nikon better, the bodies just feel better and easier to work with for me. There's no question the long lenses from Canon are cheaper though, the 500 and 600mm are thousands cheaper than the Nikon equivalents. Canon has a much better range of intermediate F/4 lenses, lenses that are sort of in between consumer and pro lenses, Nikon has more or less ignored that market.

If you want to upgrade your body I think you should go with the Nikon D300s...like I did. smile

Welcome Prairie Hunter! Glad to see you here! You have some very nice work displayed. One thing that would certainly help folks, if you displayed your photos all in a row vertically instead of horizontally. It shows up fine on my large monitor but most folks here don't use large monitors and it requires scrolling.

Any reason in particular you are thinking of switching brands? Usually something will trigger that impulse.

Again welcome, I look forward to you sharing more of your work.

It appears you're not TOO heavily invested in Nikon to shy away from switching, but it certainly makes the choice more difficult.