• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Stripping paint off an Aluminum boat

basser

Question

Can someone give me an idea how to strip off old paint? I am going to repaint and add a casting deck to an old mirrocraft. Also,what type of paint would you spray on, I have an air sprayer. Would you just use automotive paint? I have never done it before so any help would be appreciated. Thanks

5 answers to this question

Sand Sand Sand.
I have refurbished many boats and the best way I found to strip them is to sand it off.I use a grinder with a sanding attachment.
I feel you don't need to buy expensive automotive or marine paint.The boats I painted I just used regular old oil based enamel.Remember to etch the aluminum with muriatic acid before painting and the paint will stick forever.

You can use regular paint stripper spray cans.
You'll find it at any auto part store or even at Walmart, in the auto paint section.
1 or 2 cans will do the job, spray it on, wait until it bubbles, then use a hard plastic spatula to remove paint. Very easy.
Beware if you leave boat on trailer, you will have to cover it, or falling paint will remove trailer paint too.

If you want I still have some precut marine plywood for Alumacraft (free to be picked up) and also pinstriping, lettering, paint, etc.
Send me an email at [email protected], if you can make a trip down here (Faribault area) you'll be happy.

[This message has been edited by Valv (edited 06-19-2003).]

Basser, I guarantee it's not quite a "spray on, wipe off" job , but will be easier than sanding. I tried it before and it takes me forever, of course I don't do it as a pro, just a hobby.