• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Spring tune up

Question

What should a spring tune-up cost for a 50 horse Yamaha 2 stroke tiller? I just taked to one minneapolis marina and was quoted $200 plus parts. that seams awfully expensive to me.

I guess another question is do i need to get a tune up. I can change the lower unit oil and put in some new plugs myself.

I bought my first boat last spring so I'm new to this.

thanks for any info

8 answers to this question

Actually if you winterized motor correctly, just replace oil (even if you did it in fall), new gas in tank, run motor on muffs for few minutes to "relieve" all smoke due to fogging, new plugs, and you are ready to go. While you are there, just pump some grease into the Bering Buddies on your trailer.

$ 200 does seem very high to me too.

www.kvesurplus.com

KVESURPLUS3.gif

[This message has been edited by Valv (edited 02-17-2003).]

i have to agree! if you winterized the motor in the fall, there isn't much to do in the spring. i winterize my 175 myself. run motor with stabilized gas, decarb the cylinders, spray them with fogging oil, grease the joints on the motor, grease the winch. and change the lower unit oil. then all i have to do is start it up in the spring with the muffs on. run it til it warms up. change the plugs and i am ready to go. if you didn't winterize it then you need to do most of these things now, except the fooging. but i would run fresh gas and put some stabilizer in it since the boat my set a while before you use it much. i think $200 is high also ! del