• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Franconia cat help

Flakeoutdoorsguy

I wouldnt say that I am new to catfishing but i could use some help. I have been launching on the St. Croix at the franconia launch for a couple of years and trying to get a big ole kitty! I have tried a few differint spots, live bait, dead bait, stink bait, and all diferint times of the day and night with no real great action. My biggest fish was six to seven pounds, and most nights I only get one or two smaller ones, or worse skunked. What Im asking is what is the kind of location I am looking for? Faster current, an eddy, slow current? Deep water or shallow? I normally use suckers? One alive one dead with a circle hook? Any info would be great because after looking at some of the kitty pictures Im a little jealous and would love to hook into one. Thanks

Well if you want a big kitty and not numbers, I would suggest finding a current break near deep water. You will have to more than likely put in some time, but there probably will be a big one there.

Look for a point or wingdam and fish the seam that it creates. This seam should be the transition between the deep and shallow/normal water level.

Make sure you have fresh lively bait 1 hour prior to and post sunrise/sunset.

Another area to try is where the river necks down to create a funnel, sooner or later a fish will come through there looking to eat.