• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Guess no one on here can help

Mnbirdinglady

Hello all i'm new to the bird watch and now i want to take a few pictures.But i don't know what kind of camera to get( i need one on the low end side for now.If you know what i mean.Could someone help me out on here.

By the way you all really know how to take pictures!!

Great Job everyone.

Hey there birding lady. Welcome to HSO/FM. Great to have you here.

You've asked what seems like a simple question, but whole books have been written in answer.

Avian photography is perhaps the most demanding niche within nature photography. By the handle you chose, my assumption is that you are a birder. If so, that will help immensely, because knowing the habits of one's subjects is vital in effectively capturing them with camera/lens. I've been a birder since I was 11, and it helped me move quickly and well into avian photography when I decided to pick up the camera. If you haven't been birding long or photographing birds before, then you have a lot of fun and very rewarding learning ahead of you.

You haven't indicated in any way your level of understanding when it comes to photography, so I don't really have a starting point from which to advise you.

Do you know the difference between point-and-shoot digital cameras and DSLRs, for example? Please give us a little more information so we can better help you. There are some very experienced avian photographers on this board, but you have to help us out just a bit more to get the best advice.

And please be patient with us. It'll take more than a day to get feedback on the subject. smilesmile

I will tell you you are going to need a DSLR and a lens at least 300mm in focal length for starters, but will save more detailed comments until I have a bit more info.