• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

New To Ice Fishing. . .HELP!!!!!

I am brand new to ice fishing and excited to get started!!! Any beginners tips from the experts??? We are planning on going to Green Lake in Spicer tomorrow. . .anyone heard how the bites are over there???? THANKS!

dont go up fishing there much anymore , tip of the day is , is when the ind is blowing over 20 mph nevwer [PoorWordUsage] in the wind, hopefully that helps.

But go with a small shiner or fathead or minnow that always helps me when catching some kind a fish or a turtle.

decoygal1 - welcome to FM to the womens forum but most all to the awesome sport of ice fishing !!!!

read thru the forums and you will get a wealth of informationn, and always feel free to ask questions.

I have never fished Green lake but have wanted too. I've heard good things about it.

Welcome. My tip, start small, I'm finding buying ice fishing gear, well any type of fishing gear, get's kind of addicting smile. I've just started with a rod and reel and have been slowing adding to my collection of gear. I got some help from a great guy on here too, I think he's added more to my collection than I have grin.

I have to agree with mngirl. Start small because the purchasing of fishing gear is very addicting. The first year that I went out I bought the shack, rods, hand ice auger but then the gas powered one when the ice got over 18" thick, and an Aqua vu camera. Since that time I continuously add more jigs, a flasher, etc, etc...

Find someone that has it all and borrow... smile

Hi decoygal1!! Welcome!!

I love how everyone gives you the same sentence-be careful because icefishing is addicting! It is so true!!