• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Money shots

I have an image I took at LOW this past week that is in my opinion very, very good. Posssibly even marketable. How can I protect it and the rights as my image?

Thanks for any advice tendered.

WD

The US Copyright Office is where you need to do this. Also let me state that I am not a lawyer, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. smile so advice given here is just that...advice. I am going to quote directly from the US Gov Copyright web site because there is often confusion on this issue and I hope this will make it clear.

Quote:
Copyright Registration

In general, copyright registration is a legal formality intended to make a public record of the basic facts of a particular copyright. However, registration is not a condition of copyright protection. Even though registration is not a requirement for protection, the copyright law provides several inducements or advantages to encourage copyright owners to make registration. Among these advantages are the following:

Registration establishes a public record of the copyright claim.

Before an infringement suit may be filed in court, registration is necessary for works of U.S. origin.

If made before or within 5 years of publication, registration will establish prima facie evidence in court of the validity of the copyright and of the facts stated in the certificate.

If registration is made within 3 months after publication of the work or prior to an infringement of the work, statutory damages and attorney's fees will be available to the copyright owner in court actions. Otherwise, only an award of actual damages and profits is available to the copyright owner.