• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

duck dog Questions?

TheAsian

I am a beginner at training a duck dog. my dog is a year old and is good at retrieving a ball but i would like to know if anyone has good tips on how to train a dog to retrieve ducks. Also any good videos or books i could watch or read? Thanks for the help!

The first absolutely necessary thing is to make sure they love water. I had a problem with getting my lab to enjoy the water, but after she turned 2 she really started to enjoy it. I would start with retrieves of a ball with just a few steps into the water, moving up to longer retrieves where the dog starts swimming. Then move up to a dokken dummy to add a little weight and a larger object to the retrieve. To help in a hunting situation, make sure your dog knows the "stay" command. It is the worst to have a dog take off into the water when you have a flock of greenheads locked in. One more important thing is to make sure you dog avoids the decoys on retrieves. Just takes a lot of practice.

Things I value in a great duck dog would have to be these things.

-Steadiness. A good duck dog must be calm and alert to the action in the sky just like you are.

-Drive to retieive

-Handling ablity. They are never going to see all the downed birds so the ability to handle them to downed ducks is one of my favorite things to see.

Of course training a waterfowl job is much different than training a dog for upland game and definately takes more time and experience. Just take it one step at a time. Make sure he is very obeidient first, it makes everything so much easier.