• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Building an inexpensive wheeled ice house

Jim Hager

Hi to all,I'm new to this web site so I'm sorry if I am to ask questions you may have already answered. I have caught the ice fishing bug and love it. I would likem some ideas on how to build a fish house and not spend $1500 on a frame. I am very mechnically inclined, but short on funds, The house I would like to build would be in the size of 8'x16'. I would use it in MN. close by the Fargo area, give or take an hr or so drive time. In time would like to have fold up bunk beds,tv,mic. but for now to build this summer and add all the fun stuff at a later date. I have seen houses that the tires roll dn,tires removed,units that are on the ice up to 5" to 6" off the ice. I've heard of people using the frame from old campers, is there any sites out there or ideas any one may have? I'm thinking of 2x2 wall, corrugated steel sidding, ????????? What works what doesn't and what not to do, any help would be great.

JIm H