• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Can't find the gills!!

island guy

One particular lake I fish has me stumped. It is a very clear, deep, spring fed lake. I've fished it for many years. It has never been known as a panfish lake. The past few years due to high water levels things seem to have changed. Blue gills would be showing up in my open water catch. Didn't seem to matter where I fished the gills would be there. I was looking forward to some hard water action but can't find them. Tried their summer haunts with no luck. Moved to where I knew cabbage beds were in the summer with no luck. Deep, shallow, doesn't matter. I can't find them. I know they are still in there! It's a very underfished lake and my last time out chasing eyes in Oct I caught and released a bunch. Any ideas? It's starting to bug me!! I'm not a beginner and have had good luck in other lakes. It's just this one. I'm beginning to get a complex!

I have the same problem in a lake I fish in the summer. Clarity of up to 18 ft (DNR) and the patterns for open and hard water are no where near each other.

After searching for pike one day with the camera, I found out that the sunnies were much, much deeper then I would ever assume.

On this lake there is a 50 ft hole and I have found that the break that starts at about 20 feet going into this hole is where I found my best luck.

Dont know if that helps.