• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Need Some Help

I spend a lot of time at swim meets watching my children. We recently bought a Nikon D-80 with Nikkor 55-200 4-5.6 VR lense. We can take amazing pictures outside with this set up but most meets are indoors. The lighting is terrible and the pictures just don't turn out. I shoot in aperature mode with iso around 800 and I still do not get adequate shutter speed. Would an expensive flash help or do I need to go to a different lense. If so, what do you recommend. I am a newbie and I really don't know much but I am trying.

Thanks in advance.

I don't shoot Nikon, but the principles are the same regardless of brand. You have a couple options.

One: Buy a lens that opens the aperture wider, to f2.8 or wider (so you can get a faster shutter speed with the available light). You'll still likely need to ramp iso up to 1600, which will show a good amount of digital noise and grain.

Two: Buy a flash. The flash will be the less expensive option by far but won't look quite as natural as ambient light. It will also reflect off every glinty watery surface.

I agree, a faster lens - something like the Sigma 50-150 F/2.8 would work, but a flash would be less expensive. I have a fairly cheap Quantary on my D80 and it reaches quite a ways. if you're to far you could also try something like the "Better Beamer" with the external flash which focuses the flash and is supposed to be good out to 100'.