• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Archery Aiming Question

Mike Wallace

I am a PE teacher in the west metro. We run the NASP program in 3rd and 4th grade at my school. Because of the way the program works, we shoot bare bow and teach the kids instinctive shooting. We participated in the NASP State Tournament last year, took 53 kids, and won the tournament but comparing our scores to the national tournament scores, we aren't close. I need a way to create more consistency and still keep a bare bow.

I understand the concept of using a aiming point, whether it is the arrow point or something on the riser, but that is a tough concept to get 9 and 10 year olds to understand. Has anyone got any ideas on the process to get this concept across to 25 kids at a time?

Any ideas are appreciated.

Mike Wallace

I just started shooting a longbow this year and have found the best way to start and gain the consistencey is to try and look down the arrow shaft. This will do a couple of things. First, with the anchor point on the edge of your eye - It is easy to get a relatively consistant anchor point. Secondly it will give the kids a point of reference By aiming down the arrow shaft.

There are a lot more people that know more than I, but this is what worked for me.

DL

As a level II NAA instructor, I've tried different approaches. I tend to shy away from 'aiming down the shaft' as it actually creates more inconsistency with form. Instinct shooting comes from lots of practice, and an "Ah-Hah" moment of understanding that the arrow doesn't go where it looks like it is pointed.