• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Building Your Own Muzzleloader

chucker34

I saw this feature piece on assembling your own muzzleloader in Field and Stream this month. You basically buy a kit that give you all the pieces, which you have to finish and assemble - i.e., blueing the barrel and "white" metal parts, polishing the brass, sanding, finishing, and sealing the stock, and even filing some of the metal parts to smooth custom fit. Looks like a lot of fun actually, but anyone have any experience with this or have any pros/cons of "traditional" muzzleloaders they'd like to share.

I'm completely new to muzzleloading but if I were to order one of these kits, I'd get percussion one instead of a flintlock. And I'd probably do everything myself except for the blueing. I might take that to the gunsmith in town to avoid all the swearing and frustration on my end. LOL.

I built a side lock .54cal kit from T/C it was the New Englander model. I also got the 12ga barrel for it. I have taken several deer with it. It was very satisfying to take a deer with a gun you assemble yourself. My kit had the barrel blued already. The wood to metal fitting took some time but is managable if you go slowly. I rubbed chalk on the metal parts then pressed against wood to leave chalk marks then slowly carved with wood chisel or sand paper depending on how much wood needed to be removed. Then you chalk and try fitting again until your part fit perfectly. I then used tung oil and hande oiled a beautifull finish on the stock. That process took the longest as I wanted a glossy durable finish. I love shooting this rifle and have not wanted to use a inline muzzeloader yet. I also shoot a .50 flintlock but it was not a kit. It has also taken a couple deer. Good luck building the kit. Take your time and it should turn out to be good shooting rifle.

MWal