• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Thorne Rod for Crappies?

Fishin Beast

I have been thinking about getting one of the rods from Thorne Bros. I am mostly fishing crappies with this rod, but while catching crappies, walleyes and big sunfish are also around. What rod am I looking at buying?

I haven't tried any of the Thorne rods, but pictured a panfish rod as a little too light of a setup to handle the larger sized fish.

(I am also posting this in here just in case someone else was thinking the same thing.)

You are making a wise choice in looking for a Thorne Bros rod.I have a few but I am not a expert on which model would suit you best.Matt Johnson will see this and add a post with the best all around rod for you.

If you have a chance to get to the Ice show this weekend you could stop by thier booth and talk to him and hold and feel all there rods.

Fought with the same question myself this weekend. I already own an all-star panfish line up - 2 power noodles, a 24" panfish sweetheart and a sweetpea. After tackling a some larger crappies last year, was looking for something with a little more tussle to it...

I ended up with the 28" perch sweetheart. I think that rod will be heavy enough for the big panfish and occasional walleye that I run into, yet, still short enough to fish comfortably in the portable or with a thorne spring bobber.

Fishing out of the portable is pretty much my full time activity, and I needed a rod that I could still get a good hookset from the fishtrap pro (short ceiling, low seat).

I'll probably look at a longer panfish (or perch, if I decide I really like it) sweetheart for outside fishing, but since I rarely hole hop for anything more than locating a hot hole, I can do that perfectly fine now with any of the above rods.