• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Crappies

himjunkie13

I posted about this same thing in the icefishing category and got some good info but also got directed here, I found some good sized crappies on my vexlar in about 17' of water. What would be some good plans techniques for catching them? Lures? Baits? Line? Bobber vs. No bobber? Tactics and techniques? I can't seem to catch them, they were about 10' under the ice and I tried minnows, waxies, and gulp! maggots. It was about 7 o'clock so maybe the lack of sun had something to do with it IDK.

I'm no expert by any means,(just ask C.T.), but I have seen instances when some people can see fish on their flasher and they think they have to jig for them.

A fish that's neutral or negative won't bite an aggressively jigged bait. Sometime a deadstick approach would be a good tactic. I know it's hard to not to try and entice them to bite. I've been there. But sometimes not moving the line is the best way to get a bite.

Read Toms article on the heartbeat hula. Good stuff!

Dan is pretty much on the money here, but the first thing you have to figure out is the mood of the fish. I generally start out with an aggressive lure like the Jigging Eye (1/16 ounce) or Jigging Demon(size 6) or perhaps the Go Devil in a 1/16. Two waxies max on the trebles. If I get action right away I stay with whatever I have on, but toy with different colors. I usually start the larger, more aggressive stuff in glow red, by the way.

If the fish show interest by coming into the bait but not hitting, I make one of two assumptions: they are sunfish/perch or their mood is nuetral.