• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Early ice crappie location

ND Jig Head

Well guys, it's just around the corner. Ice fishing is allmost here. This ice season I am going to concentrate on Crappies. I found a few late last winter in river back water near sunken trees. I have checked the Game & Fish stocking reports and found a couple small reserviors ( 50 acers or so ) that were stocked with crappies and northern a couple years ago. I have never seen anyone fish these waters. I live in Bismarck, ND and here walleye is king so that is not surprising. My question is where to start as I am new to crappie fishing. These reserviors have 30 to 40 ft. deep water neer the dam and steep drop-offs neer the deep water. There are one or two humps topping out at 10 ft or so. Of course the water skinnys up twords the back end of the reserviors. I don't know about weeds but i'm sure there are some in the shallows. I plan to use 2# line and jig small lures like nucular ants on one pole and dead stick a small minnow on the other. Two lines is enough in my ice house. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Jig Head

There are a few options you could take...

Focus on the shallow weed areas in any bay or cut. Those crappies will hold to any remaining vegetation as long as green weeds are still present and provide what they are looking for (oxygen, forage and cover). Usually I start my year targeting weedy bays for crappies, or else I'll move out to the weed edge and focus on initial break lines if weeds are present. Shallow mucky bays can be good too.