• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

WOUNDED BIRD

BRYSTER

The dog needs to learn the command hold. Does he bring the dummy right to your hand when you play fetch? I would get the book or video GAME DOG by Richard Wolters. You should be able to correct this problem.

I guarantee the solution is not as simple as the command "hold". I currently have the same issue. My dog would not dream of dropping a dummy and walking away knowing the possible ramifications of such actions. However, she is willing to risk a scolding with a live duck. I believe it is an exposure issue. LABS4ME started me on a solution to this, maybe he could speak more about it here.

I was just giving some advice. It could be as simple as teaching the dog to hold, it might not. I'm not an expert, but I've trained a few dogs and have a little experience hunting with them. Unless you know this dog, you can't guarantee the problem isn't a simple command.

O.K. Ray, I'll give it a go...

I feel a lot of our field dogs are trained to much with dummies and not enough with birds (both live and dead). Reduce the amout of retrieving with dummies and use frozen birds. I even went so far as breasting out ducks and duck taping their wings back around their breasts and using these. Keep them frozen and use them for a week or two and move onto a new batch.