• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

New to pan fishing

TC123

I'm extremely new to pan fishing - especially crappies. The extent of my experience is bobber fishing with crawlers. I am getting my 7 year old sun very excited about fishing and would really appreciate some help on which lakes to try (and maybe a special spot on the lake). I would like to try White Bear and Green (in Chisago) due to what I've heard and read about them for crappies.

I don't really care about the size - I would rather see a lot of crappies vs. small numbers of large ones.

Also, from what I've read on here - do crappies actually prefer plastics over crappie minnows? I was thinking about trying with the minnows.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Plastics are usually fished with a retreiving or jigging motion so they may not be the best way for a youngun' to fish, although you probably could get away with dangling them under a float. But live bait might be the best choice in that case. Plastics do catch pannies though.

Juggs is right about the plastics issue here. It is important to take small kids "catching" instead of fishing. Plastics may be too aggresive of a bait for a young one starting just out. I would opt for a smaller jig and a waxie over the crawler or worm and a minnow may serve you even better than that.

While I am not too familiar with many of the metro area lakes, I do know that many offer very good shorefishing for the pannies and if the crappies prove too elusive the sunfish will almost always be agreeable.

White Bear and Green are both good options, as are Chisago/South Lindstrom (close to Green) and Bald Eagle (close to White Bear). A couple options close to each other to choose from if one lake doesn't produce. You should also be able to pick up a good number of sunfish on all four lakes as well.