• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

dog committment

island guy

Sorry to sound preachy, but I need to get this off my chest. I recently spent a weekend with a old hunting buddy and Vet. He was going to a get together of other Vet friends from college. I tagged along. I was saddened when talk got around to hunting dogs and how many dogs they put down because they are "untrainable". These "hunters" often go out and get another dog they feel will be better. According to these guys, most of the "untrainable" dogs they put down are worked with once or twice a week by their owners. Expectations are high and when it doesn't work out, they move on to the next dog. I thought this must be pretty isolated instances, but it's not. My friend said he probably put down a dozen this year.

I'm not a expert dog trainer. I've had retrievers all my life and years ago used to sell a litter a year of started dogs. There are many good ways to train a dog. We all have our favorite. None of these methods work without TIME SPENT!! Taking your dog out of the kennel twice a week won't do it. It's rare to get a pup that doesn't need lots of work to be a good hunting companion. Case in point. A couple of years ago my 14 year old son wanted his own dog. We had long discussions of the responsibility and work it would take. We found a 10 month old lab that had a good background. The guy was willing to give it to us as he claimed the dog was a bonehead and untrainable. My inner voice screamed no, no, no!! But the kid really wanted this dog. I taught my kid the basic stuff and told him it would be a everyday thing. To my amazement, he stuck with it. He worked that dog each and every day. We got that dog in june and hunted it that fall. It was terrible. My son spend more time with his gun cased during hunts, trying to control that dog, than he did hunting. B