• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Sled for Ice Fishing

IceAge@work

I'm a snowmobile novice but am starting to see the need to purchase one for future big lake ice fishing adventures. The four-wheeler I currently have works well on small metro lakes but for tooling around on Mille Lacs or LOTW I know it is not the ticket.

What kind of options should I be looking at and how do they improve the machine for fishing purposes. Brands and model suggestions are good just don't want it to get into a Ford vs. Chevy thing.

Also I see some of the ice fishing media types with these really elaborate racks & brackets and basket things. Is this all custom built stuff or is it commonly available after market items the general public can get a hold of.

And lastly new vs. used. I'm hoping to find a decent deal over the summer and curious if opinions are that hold over models might be the best value instead of a used sled.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

IceAge; This is a good time of the year to find a good deal on a sled. What price range are you looking at? I would suggest at least a 136" track with reverse and electric start. There are used sleds out there with less than 1000 miles, if they have been treated right, should be less than half price of new. Good luck.

If I had the cash to buy an ice fishing specific snowmobile. I would get an Arctic Cat Bearcat in a heartbeat. Some of the Bearcats features that I really like are the 4 stroke engine, reverse, long & wide track, 2 up seat, luggage rack, and cat has the interchangeable rack system. And Cat just dropped the new T660 Turbo 4 Stroke motor into the Bearcat for next season!

Alot of these same features are available on other manufacturer's snowmobiles also so your not just limited to Cat.