• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

New owner

crosseyed

I am not an expert and I have been waiting for a response for you, because I think that your intensions are great. I do not know what your dog already knows, but I would read some of the other threads on here, Labs4me as well as others have given alot of great advice. What I think is get the basics down first. I think that if you read some of the other threads on here, you will get the information that you are wanting. It is a great feeling training your dog and seeing it work out in the field! Sorry that I am not that much help, but I have been able to learn alot reading the threads of others.

Good Luck and I see that you are new to this site, so I also want to say WELCOME TO F.M.

"hooks"

sorry for the delay in a response... was gone fishin'! grin.gif Fishin hooks has it right, start slow, really work on your basics (sit, stay, here, heel) then work in some retrieving, then introduction to guns, then begin on bird work (controlled game farm stuff or pigeons). A lot of this will be covered in books. Get a couple that deal with spaniels and read them. The only one I know of is the one Richard Wolters wrote, "Game Dog". This one is more geared to spaniels and upland hunting than his other books. I'm sure some of the spaniel guys on here will be able to direct you to a couple.

Really use the next 6 months to work on getting him ready for this fall. Dedicate a portion of each day to work on him. Make sure to work through any problems that develop before moving on to another portion of training. And most of all have fun with him!

Good Luck!

Ken