• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Which Electronic??? Newbie here

honda400ex_treme

This is my first year ice fishing where im really serious, now that me and my dad will have a house other than a portable and are making time to go. What would everyone suggest for an electronic, Vexlar, Marcum, Aqua-Vue. I don't know all of them or the different series of them. So if you know any info on any of them and what you suggest. We just want something that will help us locate fish.

I like the Vexlar but I have no idea what version to get of it. I barely know how to work it also.

Thanks in advance!

I would check out the MarCum LX-1. It's your basic fish locater/flasher. It has outstanding target separation and the signal reading is phenomenal. It's a three-color flasher that will tell you the depth, it will show you the fish, and it will show you your jig. It will also tell you what type of bottom content is down there as well as if there are weeds or not (you can read up more about this in the user manual). I use a MarCum LX-3 (same as the LX-1 but with a zoom feature) and I love it. Another good thing about MarCum is that the interference rejection is incredible. You will block out all opposing signals and you won't have any clutter up on your screen. You can fish two MarCum's side by side without any problems. You can even fish next to a buddy with a Vexilar and still have a clear screen while your buddy's screen has some clutter.

I used a Vexilar for years, and I caught a lot of fish with one, so I'm not knocking Vexilar, they will still get the job done. But, I prefer a MarCum, it just suits me better.

Good Fishin,

Matt Johnson